Trajectory Optimization, Tablet Showing, Visual Servoing, and More!

Hi y’all!

I’m Matt Lamsey, and I’m a robotics PhD student at the Georgia Institute of Technology. This summer, I have been interning with Hello Robot, where I have had the opportunity to work on several interesting projects with Stretch. These include:

1. I explored optimizing whole-body robot trajectories in simulation, as detailed in this forum post. This built on top of excellent prior work by Michal Ciebielski!
  2. In collaboration with @hello-amal, @hello-vinitha, and @vynguyen91, I developed ROS2 actions that enable Stretch to show its tablet end effector to humans. @hello-amal described how these actions were integrated into Stretch Web Teleop in his recent forum post.
  3. In collaboration with @cpaxton and @bshah, I contributed to dexterous teleoperation and visual servoing modules for Stretch.

This forum post details my work on these three projects, and includes links to relevant code. I hope that this serves as a useful reference for others to build on!

1. Trajectory Optimization

Trajectory optimization code link here!

compressed_triangle

Figure 1. Example simultaneous position and orientation tracking for a simulated Stretch RE3.

A more comprehensive forum post about trajectory optimization can be found here, which builds on prior work by Michal Ciebielski. We leverage the OpTaS robotic optimization framework to perform trajectory optimizations for a simulated Stretch RE3.

We specify 6DOF trajectories for the robot’s end effector to track, and non-holonomic motion constraints are enforced for the robot’s base. My original post on this topic contains results from optimizing several types of trajectories - check it out!

2. Showing a Tablet to a Human

Tablet showing code link here! This work was first mentioned in @hello-amal’s forum post last week.

Figure 2. Example tablet viewing poses relative to a human.