Connecting Stretch to xbox adaptive controller

Hello,

I am planning on using stretch RE2 with an xbox adaptive controller.

At first glance I was considering connecting the controller via blue-tooth or connecting it with an xbox dongle and using the same code stretch is currently running for teleoperated, but I have stumble into some problems.

It seems like there is no way to detect other controllers (even those with dongle) without changing the internal code
- On that note: I haven’t found the actual code that stretch uses to connect to the remote when booting up. I am assuming is probably a C++ code somewhere?
- I did find a stretch_body file in the github that had an “xbox_controller.py” python program, which seems like is the code stretch is using, but once again I am not sure what code Stretch is calling when booting up.

What way would be the easiest/less trouble to implement the already excising code with a new controller. I have very little C++ knowledge, so if possible implementing this with python.

Thank you for the assistance,

Rafael Morales

1 Like

Hi @Rafael_MM, welcome to the forum! I’ll detail how the standard xbox controller commands the robot and this should help make it clear where you can make modifications to get the adaptive xbox controller working instead.