Implementing contact detection for dynamixels

Greetings Stretch community!

My name is Jesus Rodriguez and I’m currently an intern here at Hello Robot. I wanted to share with you something that I’ve been working on these past weeks. Please note that this is only an experiment, so use this at your own risk.

As you can see in the title, I’ve been working on how to implement contact detection in the dynamixels for the dex wrist (just in case, don’t try this on the camera as it is more fragile than the wrist and you can break it!). In addition, FYI, I used the recently added gamepad_teleop that’s been recently released, this is currently in beta.

To give everyone a brief insight on this topic, there is already contact detection for the prismatic joint class (there are also other contact models, check them in our docs), but there’s no contact detection in the wrist that is part from the dynamixel class, that’s why I made this tutorial.

Changes in the dynamixels

Every change that we make is going to be inside the dynamixel_hello_XL430.py and minimal changes in the wrist_yaw (if you want to learn more about the dynamixel servos), if you have the dex wrist just like me then you’ll also need to make changes in the wrist_pitch and wrist_roll. For now, let’s just go to the dynamixel_hello_XL430 and search the set_velocity method:

def set_velocity(self,v_des,a_des=None):
        if self.was_runstopped:
            return
        if not self.watchdog_enabled:
            self.motor.disable_watchdog()
            self.disable_torque()
            self.motor.enable_watchdog()
            self.watchdog_enabled = True
            self.enable_torque()
        v = min(self.params['motion']['max']['vel'],abs(v_des))
        v_des = -1*v if v_des<0 else v
        nretry = 2
        if not self.hw_valid:
            return
        if self.params['req_calibration'] and not self.is_calibrated:
            self.logger.warning('Dynamixel not calibrated: %s' % self.name)