Triggering Demos with Voice Commands

Hello!

I am trying to figure out how to get stretch to be controlled by voice commands. I figured a good starting place would be to trigger one of the demos (like grasp_object) to initiate by saying a certain word or phrase rather than a keyboard input. I have already played around with the stretch demos, and have gotten the respeaker speech to text functions working. I am new to hello robot and ROS and not sure I quite understand where to start in putting this all together now. Has anyone tried/ had any success communicating with stretch through voice prompts yet?

Thanks,
Julia

Hello! I’ve had success with using voice prompts on Stretch + ROS. Here is a link to a ROS node that records a snippet of audio using Stretch’s internal mic, and counts how many unique colors were spoken in the snippet. For your application, you could create logic to execute different actions based on the strings detected in the recording. You could use the roslaunch API to launch a launch file from stretch_demos, but make sure you only run one Stretch driver at a time.

We used the SpeechRecognition python package. PyPI docs had everything we needed to set it up, such as this example.

See this launch file for how we included the node in our application.

Snippet:

import speech_recognition as sr

recording_length = 10.  # seconds

r = sr.Recognizer()
with sr.Microphone() as source:
    # record
    audio_clip = r.record(source, duration=recording_length)

# recognize
    try:
        text_string = r.recognize_google(audio_clip)  # see PyPI docs for other options
    except sr.UnknownValueError:
        print("Speech recognizer could not understand audio")
    except sr.RequestError as e:
        print("Speech recognition error; {0}".format(e))

# execute
    if "grasp" in text_string:
        roslaunch_grasp_demo()  # implement this elsewhere using the roslaunch package
    else:
        print("No command found in string")
3 Likes